It’s been a long hard 11 years waiting…

When I was 10 years old this amazing movie came out.  Toy Story.
A simple story about a boy named Andy with a nice collection of Toys and an imagination.
Key word here is imagination.
When I was 10 I could relate to Andy.  I had enough Toys to stary my own Toys R Us (Thanks Mom and Dad).
From my Batman collection, GI-Joes to my complete collection of Ninja Turtles, I loved my toys.
It’s funny how things change.  Sure kids still have toys.  How about Imagination?
When I was a kid I was forced to take my toys and imagine.  Imagination sparks creativity and creativity changes the world.
Today kids have toys.  These toys aren’t GI-Joes, Cowboys with pull strings and Turtles dressed in Ninja outfits they are called iPods, iPhones, Laptops.  Toys that require NO Imagination.
This is why I love Toy Story and the story of Andy.  Watching these movies it takes you back to when you were a kid and it all comes back to you.
Playing in your room with your toys and your imagination.  You were free.  There were no bills, no car payments, no worries.
Toy Story captures this perfectly.  This is why Toy Story is the best Pixar saga to date.  Toy Story 1 changed the face of Pixar, it was an instant classic.  Toy Story 2 wasn’t nearly as good, but still a good solid movie.  I was a little worried for 3.  Especially after Pixar had talks previously of a straight to DVD release.
After 5 minutes into the movie I knew it was going to knock TS1 out of the water.  And did it ever.  This movie had me laughing to (almost)..  I will repeat (almost) crying.  I’d like to go into a couple scenes of the movie but I don’t want to spoil it.  Just go and watch it.  Take your kids, your mom, your dad, your best friend and be free.  Let it take you back to when you were a kid and all you had was a piece of plastic and an imagination.

Pixar, Disney.. I am giving you a nice firm golf clap right now for a perfect movie.  I left feeling like a kid again.  One of the greatest feelings in the world.  This was up until I saw a missed call on my phone from Rogers.  Cell bills overdue, damn…. back to reality.

/samseto

This entry was posted in Movie Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s been a long hard 11 years waiting…

  1. Anonymous says:

    i remember when i get a new action figure i would play in my room for hours by myself with just my new toy

Leave a Reply

